INFO LINE   03 349 7727


Ruapuna Speedway News

Christchurch Speedway Association is seeking someone to fill the role of Treasurer. Full training will be given by our current Treasurer but the position needs to be filled as soon as possible. For more information or to express your interest or nomination please email Jeanette Ellis at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Its been a long time between drinks for Midget car speedway fans when it comes to seeing top line American drivers at Ruapuna, but this week the lineup for the K&T Drainage Midget Week has been boosted by the entry of highly rated Spencer Bayston and Tyler Thomas to the field.

Bayston from Lebanon, Indiana was ranked as #2 in the 'Midget Power Rankings' for the 2016 season, while Thomas from Collinsville, Oklahoma was ranked 9th.

At 20 years of age many consider Bayston to be 'the next big thing' on the USA scene and his second placing in the recent 50 Lap Classic at Western Springs, which he backed up with third place in last weekends New Zealand Championship at Nelson will make him determined to end his 'down under' campaign on a winning note.

The entry list also includes Brad Mosen who finished second in the New Zealand Championship, former NZ Champion Peter Hunnibell and Brock Maskcovich (all Auckland), defending NZ Midget Grand Prix Champion Duane Hickman and Stratfords youthful star Campbell Stewart.

Michael Pickens, who won the New Zealand Championship for the seventh time at Nelson was not able to come south as he is defending his Australian crown at Brisbane. (Photo of Spencer Bayston courtesy of John Sprague)

Here are the confirmed groups:

Equus Group 1:

Jonathan Allard

Matt Honeywell

Jarvis Tidd (Bay park)

Allan Chapman

Paddy North

Caleb Brooks


Crediflex Group 2:

Dean Brindle

Jamie Duff

Tony Uhlenbeg

Daniel Anderson

Kyle Shearing

Greg Clemence


Springston Hotel Group 3:

Jamie Larsen

Steve Duff Jnr

Matt Leversedge

Simon Stephens

Jason Smith

Martin Harcourt


Canterbury Demolition Group 4

Jamie McDonald

Luke Keegan

Steven Taylor

Ben Gilmore

Brett Sullivan

Luke Wederall


Men At Work Group 5

Daniel Eggleton

Jason Scott

Skinny Colson

Shaun Ashton

Greg Teece

Simon Reiter


Avon Insurance Group 6

Rodney Wood

Sam O'Callaghan

Kris Gerard

Ray Baughan

Nathan Astle

Jackson Lovelady

NEEDED: 5 girls aged between 15-18 years old on Saturday night 3rd December to be part of the SI Side Car title starting team.

Must be smartly dressed, in a black skirt and top and bring something warm to wear as you will be in the track centre for the meeting.

Please send a photo and your details by email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by 5.00 pm on Friday 2nd December 2016.

It's been a long, hard battle but the final Noise Management Plan has been released. To download your copy please Click Here.

Ruapuna Speedway welcomes on board Canterbury Waterproofing as the NZ Sprintcar Title naming rights winners! This event will be huge and we are very grateful for the support from another local business.


Below are our group sponsors, B and C Main and heat race sponsors


Naming Rights Winner

Canterbury Waterproofing

Group Naming Rights Winners.

Equus Southern
Men at Work
Canterbury Demolition
Avon Insurance
Springston Hotel.

B Main naming rights

Brian Humm Contracting

C Main  naming rights

Mora Contracting

Various Heat Races

Stadium Finance.