INFO LINE   03 349 7727


Ruapuna Speedway News

Success in Speedway can have so many meanings. For some it can be simply finishing a race with the vehicle in tact or achieving a podium finish, it can be creating a new personal best or finally beating their biggest contender. For some it’s seeing the final checkered flag drop knowing the meeting ran smoothly or that the weather God’s were kind. It can be selling out of hotdogs because the crowd was so big or that the ambulance crew stood in one spot; no injuries to attend to. For those behind the scenes who tirelessly pour passion and time into making our Speedway the best it can be, success was the Speedway New Zealand Awards 2015.

Ruapuna Speedway put forward nominees of which 14 made the finalist list – a mean feat in itself and something to be proud of. As we sat in anticipation, the room went quiet and the ceremony began. Success came first from Speedway T-Shirt of the Year, a striking design from our very own Allan Batt who humbly approached the red carpet to accept the first award of the night. Before he could return to his seat we were called up again and Kevin Clive accepted the award for Promotional Item of the Year. Another original idea - the collector cards distributed with each programme at meetings.

By now we were all smiles and excitement and before we knew it we were up again! It would seem it was AJ’s night, the room erupted in applause (our table the loudest) as Commentator of the Year was announced. An incredibly high accolade but given to none more deserving – not many others would sing the National Anthem when the music fails to play! The next success was Allan Daly winning Modified Sprint Competitor of the Year. Kevin Clive accepted on his behalf and spoke on how dedicated Allan is to this class, the passion he has for it and that we are very lucky to have this calibre of person as a part of our club, on and off the track.

Next up was Jamie Duff 1NZ to accept Sprint Car Competitor of the Year. Despite the ‘a’ on his number Jamie says Christchurch is home. It was Jeremy Webb’s turn next accepting TQ Midget Competitor of the Year and with this our trophy count was at 6 but the best was yet to come!

One of the last awards to be presented was the Contribution to Speedway award and the nominees list was a long one. We all knew who we wanted to receive it – maybe we were biased but we were not disappointed. We stood and cheered as AJ hit the red carpet for the 3rd time that night, shock and humility were written on his face – it was the highlight of the evening. What made the moment even more momentous was this followed Gary Jemmett who received this accolade last year. This kind of recognition shows the backbone of our speedway is strong and long may it continue.

We are a team at Ruapuna Speedway and should all be proud of each of these successes. I quote AJ Batt “I told myself when Ruapuna is better than it was when I first started there it’ll be my time to leave; but now it’s so good I don’t want to”. We can all be proud of the effort put in and can lay claim to the success. We get out what we put in so this coming season let’s give it everything we’ve got!


The Christchurch Speedway Association (Inc.)




MONDAY 8 June 2015 7.30pm



 Order of Business:


  1. Apologies
  1. Minutes of the 2014 Annual General Meeting
  1. Matters Arising from the Minutes
  1. Balance Sheet/Annual Report
  1. President’s Report
  1. Election of Officers
  1. General Business


Discussion subjects for 2015-16 season:

  • Proposed Season Calendar

Open discussion will be at the discretion of the Chairman.



As per the Club Constitution:

  1. Annual Subscriptions

         (a) Any member who has not paid his annual subscription prior to the Annual General Meeting shall not be entitled to vote or enjoy the privileges of membership until such subscription has         been paid in full.


         (a) Any person who is desirous of becoming a member of the society may apply to the Secretary.  Such applications shall be considered by the management committee and if approved the Secretary shall, within 14 days of consideration notify the applicant the result of their application.

Here is your chance to make a nomination(s) for the up coming Speedway New Zealand Awards - now in their 20th year, and if you are lucky your nomination can win yourself a $500 ferry voucher.

Here is some more details from Speedway NZ including the link to make your nomination.

The NZ Speedway Awards are the premier event of the off-season, and nominations are now open for the 2015 ceremony. There are a celebration of speedway’s success from throughout the country, and there... are three ways you can get involved to make this year the best ever.

Nominate: We want a record number of nominations to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the awards, so there’s a $500 ferry voucher up for grabs. To be in the draw simply nominate someone in any of the categories and you’re in to win.

Sponsor: There are 43 categories, and by sponsoring a trophy you are automatically in the draw to become the naming rights sponsor for the entire event. Wellington Family Speedway won the draw last year, it could be you or your business in 2015. We’d like to make this draw on April 1 so the winner gets maximum exposure for their investment. Contact the SNZ Office if you are interested.

Come Along: Tickets will be on sale soon, with the awards dinner on Saturday 13 June at the all-new Shed 6 Events Centre on the Wellington waterfront.

You can nominate deserving competitors, tracks and individuals here:-

Cheers, Tim

TQ Masters Groups


92c Ryan Chapman

47a Morgan McHugh

1nz Matt Leversedge

27a Hayden Guptill

26c Gavin Chappel

12c Kimberley yeatman

41c Jason Graham

78c Lindsay Bailey

11c Liam McCoubrey


Rep :Mike Madden




82gm James Thompson

44a Paul Lecren

19c Mike Hylsop

62c Mark Morris

2nz Daune Todd

94c Charles Gardiner

87c Scott Bailey

24c Daniel Jenkins


Rep :Mike Madden




88c Matt Davison

8b Craig Todd

18a Shane Phillips

14c Clayton Phillips

3nz Danny Keene

72c Brett Booth

49c Tim Millar

4c Daniel McKinlay


Rep :Jennie Wright




16c Kyle Glover

14gm Sean Brown

8c Jeremy Webb

21c Tim Yellowlees

93c Ben Smith

67a Jayden Busch

6n Alicia McLauchan

83c Ben Gilmore


Rep :Jennie Wright

We are very pleased to announce a free bouncy castle in the Nicholson Contractors kidzone for our last 4 meetings

Make sure to check it out. 

All Corporate Boxes for the NZ Midgets have now been booked.

There is still plenty of room in the stands.